New family member

So as many of you have probably noticed I’ve been MIA for a while. Sorry about that, but also you all know that life happens and we don’t always get to do things like we may want.

I’ve been going to school and have finished my class and am planning on taking a short break from it. Also my family and I have adopted a new member into our family…. a new puppy. She’s a lab mix and is only 4 months old. We found her at the animal shelter and fell in love with her. We named her Jazzie. I’ll have to post pictures of her as soon as I’m able. Life is still crazy with potty training her and making sure she doesn’t chew on things we don’t want her to etc.

I strongly believe in adopting from shelters. Sure, you may not find a Pure breed, but there are plenty of animals there that would love to have a home. Too many animals end up in shelters and most end up being put to sleep because of the overwhelming numbers and limited space shelters have. There are many people who shy away from shelter animals because of different reasons. Too hard to train, too old, not what they are looking for, etc.

Both of my dogs are shelter puppies and I’m so glad I found them. Angel, my now almost three year old, was almost a year old when we met her. She was skinny and spunky. She had been at the shelter for some time and was running out of time. When we played with her, we bonded with her quickly. She’s now a healthy happy dog who loves to play tug and likes to keep my feet warm at night. She loves the kids and likes to play with them, but sometimes she just wants a lap.

Jazzie, our newest, was very skinny and was shy at first. We were surprised to find such a young dog at the shelter. We still have no idea why someone would take such a sweetheart to the shelter. Perhaps her previous owners couldn’t find her a home or maybe she was just too much to take on. Who knows? She’s got such a calm and sweet personality and just wants to be cuddled. She’s putting on weight which is good and she’s my sons best friend and loves to play with him and she’s so gentle with him.

I would be lost without my puppies and I know they are happy to be home with me and my family. Sure they are mutts, but they are mine and I love them. You don’t need a fancy tiny dog to be happy. You just need to open your heart.

If any of you are looking for a new furry family member, please go to your local animal shelter. Some only have cats and dogs others may have different animals. You never know what you’ll find until you look.

Until next time everyone.

About drakanair

I'm 27 years old and like to explore new things. I sing, sew, and love to take pictures of the world around me.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

