Making a new friend/ Building confidence

So about a month or so ago, I found a YouTuber named Regan who’s channel is called Other ways of life. On his channel he’s doing Rejection Therapy in Japan. Rejection Therapy is where you go out with the goal to be rejected. The point of it is so rejection doesn’t hurt as bad and your confidence will grow. It sounds weird, I know. In watching Regan’s first through current rejection videos you can see how much his confidence has grown. He’s not as shy or as afraid of getting rejected. It’s awesome! 

I started following him on Twitter (my personal twitter. I haven’t made one for my blog yet..) as well and actually built up the courage to say hello. Keep in mind I wasn’t expecting anything back because I have tried to say hi to other youtubers and nothing comes from it. But Regan actually replied to me! I was absolutely stunned, I actually had to close out of Twitter and come back into it to make sure I wasn’t imagining it haha. About a week ago I asked him if he’d check out my blog, again with the mindset that I’d get no response. (He’s a busy person and he has who knows how many people who talk to him on a daily basis through Twitter.) Yesterday he tweeted me back telling me that he actually came and read it. He’s teaching me that it’s OK to ask random questions and to come out of my shell.

I may not always get acknowledged when I say hello to people I follow through social media, but that’s ok. It used to hurt seeing other people’s tweets or comments get liked or re-tweeted when I would ask a question or try to start a conversation. I still know that I may not get a response from people and I’m ok with that. People have lives to live, they aren’t or shouldn’t be connected to their phone or computer all the time. So I shouldn’t feel like it’s something against me.

I haven’t actually met Regan, but I have began to consider him a friend. We’re both shy, still coming out of our shells. (Me more than him.) You can feel his friendliness and wonderful personality even through a computer. Sure, he’s across the world from where I am, but you can make friends anywhere in the world, you just have to be willing to search.

I strongly recommend that you all go check out Regan’s YouTube Other ways of life. He’s a great person and I think you’d enjoy his videos.

If you do go check him out, send him a comment saying Elizabeth from Life and random things sent you. 🙂

About drakanair

I'm 27 years old and like to explore new things. I sing, sew, and love to take pictures of the world around me.
This entry was posted in Life, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

