Summer break is almost here

So I have one kid who is done with school for the summer. I have one to go. My daughter has a couple more weeks to go before she’s done. She’s super excited for her end of the year field trip. She gets to go watch a movie, go on a tour and get to have fun with her classmates.

I, on the other hand, am excited for Mother’s Day. I’m hoping for a day where I can relax and be pampered. I’m not going to hold my breath on that idea though. I’ll be happy with a day where I can get loves from my kids and maybe a nap. I’ve never really cared for bought gifts, I’m more happy with homemade gifts.

I don’t like where every holiday has become commercialized to where you feel like you have to buy something. What happened to spending time with your family and loved ones, instead of buying something expensive to show them how much you care? Kids today expect expensive things from their parents so they know that their parents care for them. If they don’t get the expensive thing, then their parent doesn’t care enough about them. I think that mindset is retarded.

But back to the subject. I can’t wait for summer break to come, because that means I get to go do awesome things with my family and don’t have to worry about having to wake them up early for school.

How many other parents or kids are excited for summer? What are you going to do? Let me know in the comments. 🙂

 

About drakanair

I'm 27 years old and like to explore new things. I sing, sew, and love to take pictures of the world around me.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

