Time goes by so quickly

Yesterday my son, who’s 5, graduated from preschool. They sang songs and danced, lots of silly kids. My son was very hyper and decided that he wanted to be silly and goof off. Which was fine by me, sure I got weird looks, but I don’t care. That’s my son, my baby, who is growing up so quickly it makes my heart sore from wanting him to stay little and from being so proud watching him grow up. The funniest part of their performance was when the “Tooty ta” song came on. (In our house we (the grown-ups) don’t really like the song. I don’t mind other kid songs, but this one drives my boyfriend and me crazy.) The music starts and my son says “Daddy I know you hate this song.” Everyone laughed. My boyfriend went pink and didn’t say a word. I on the other hand was giggling so hard I was crying.

Its times like those that make me cherish my children. Everyday they are growing, learning new things, and being goofballs. Yes it feels like only yesterday when I was holding my newborn son in my arms, but in reality he’s almost a big kindergartner. Same with my daughter, who is so smart and who is one of the top readers of her class. She’s almost in second grade. My kids are growing up and I can’t do anything but go along for the ride. I’m hoping that they will understand that no matter how crazy they make me or how many times I have to remind them to clean their rooms and to stop fighting with each other, that I love them with all my heart and soul and no matter where they go in life that I’ll always be there for them.

As I’m writing this I’m about to cry because I know my kids have been through a lot in their lives so far, but they love me unconditionally. I really do adore and love my kids.

About drakanair

I'm 27 years old and like to explore new things. I sing, sew, and love to take pictures of the world around me.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

